Skip to content

Crafting a prize-winning poem with Professor Paul Hetherington 28/2/22

This is an interactive workshop in which Paul takes you through his writing process and drafts while honing his superb Bruce Dawe 2021 prize-winning poem, ‘Screen’. He will discuss how he conceived and edited his poem which won a major prize in Australia. There will be plenty of time for questions and comments. You’ll receive his poem and previous drafts of the poem prior to the workshop. Spend a rich hour gleaning wisdom from Paul who has 16 full poetry collections, numerous prizes, and who has taught poetry for many years.

Timing and Cost

1 hour long

9am UK // 5pm Perth Australia // Adelaide 7.30pm // Brisbane 7pm // Sydney 8pm // Darwin 6.30pm

Monday 28th February

Cost £12.50 GBP (this should be under $25AUD with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Max. 18 people to ensure lots of conversation and interaction.

About Paul Hetherington

Paul Hetherington has published 16 full-length collections of poetry and prose poetry, including Her One Hundred and Seven Words (MadHat Press, 2021) and Fugitive Letters (with Cassandra Atherton; RWP, 2020). He has won or been nominated for more than 30 national and international awards and competitions, recently winning the 2021 Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize. He is Professor of Writing in the Faculty of Arts and Design at the University of Canberra and head of the International Poetry Studies Institute (IPSI), He is co-author of Prose Poetry: An Introduction (Princeton University Press, 2020) and co-editor of Anthology of Australian Prose Poetry (Melbourne University Press, 2020).

 

Part of the UK/Australia Season of Culture 2021-22, a major programme of cultural exchange taking place across the two nations. Who are we now? How can we describe, challenge or create new connections with our land and people in the 2020s?

 

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop

 

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Book Event

Crafting a prize-winning poem with Professor Paul Hetherington 28/2/22
Available Tickets: 11
The Crafting a prize-winning poem with Professor Paul Hetherington 28/2/22 ticket is sold out. You can try another ticket or another date.

Date

Feb 28 2022

Time

9:00 am - 10:00 am

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Feb 28 2022
  • Time: 4:00 am - 5:00 am

Cost

£12.50

Location

Online (Zoom)
REGISTER
QR Code