Skip to content

Truth, Lies and Metaphor, Poetry Masterclass with Don Paterson, 7/3/24 – waiting list

In this workshop, part of a series of masterclasses for The Verandah, one of the wisest most sort after UK poets Don Paterson will take a deep dive into the subject of poetic metaphor.

He’ll show, through example and real-time exercises, how we can turn the practice of sharp comparison into a fundamental tool of poetic truth-telling – as well as a means of exploring new, hidden and unsuspected connection.

Timing and Cost

9am UK time // 5pm Perth Australia // 7.30pm Adelaide  // 6.30pm  Darwin // 7pm Brisbane //  Sydney 8pm

A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Thursday 7th March

2.5 hours long

Cost £30GBP (with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Online on Zoom

About Don Paterson

Don Paterson is the author of numerous works of poetry and non-fiction; his writing has won many awards, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Costa Poetry Award, all three Forward Prizes, and the T. S. Eliot Prize on two occasions. He was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2009; he is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the English Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and for many years taught at the University of St Andrews, where he is now Emeritus Professor of Poetry in the School of English. From 1997 to 2022, Paterson was poetry editor at Picador. For most of his life he has also worked as a jazz musician and composer. He lives in Kirriemuir, Scotland.

Don Paterson is the author of numerous works of poetry and non-fiction; his writing has won many awards, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Costa Poetry Award, all three Forward Prizes, and the T. S. Eliot Prize. He was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2009; he is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the English Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and taught at the University of St Andrews, where he is now Emeritus Professor of Poetry in the School of English. From 1997 to 2022, Paterson was poetry editor at Picador. For most of his life he has also worked as a jazz musician and composer.

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Sold out!

Date

Mar 07 2024
Expired!

Time

9:00 am - 11:30 am

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Mar 07 2024
  • Time: 4:00 am - 6:30 am

Cost

£30.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code