Skip to content

The Art of the Lyric Poem, Masterclass with Don Paterson 18/1/24

A rare opportunity to join one of the best, wisest, most knowledgeable poets in the UK.

Why do some poems clunk and some poems sing? How can we make a bad line sound good, and a good line sound great? Why do sound and sense seem so intimately connected in poetry? In this workshop, Don will discuss some of the basic tools we need to make poems sing their way into deeper sense and memorability, drawing on the masters of the singing line from Dickinson to Heaney.

Timing and Cost

9am UK time // 5pm Perth Australia // 7.30pm Adelaide  // 6.30pm  Darwin // 7pm Brisbane //  Sydney 8pm

A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Thursday 18th January, 2024

2.5 hours long

Cost £30GBP (with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Online on Zoom

About Don Paterson

Don Paterson is the author of numerous works of poetry and non-fiction; his writing has won many awards, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Costa Poetry Award, all three Forward Prizes, and the T. S. Eliot Prize on two occasions. He was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2009; he is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the English Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and for many years taught at the University of St Andrews, where he is now Emeritus Professor of Poetry in the School of English. From 1997 to 2022, Paterson was poetry editor at Picador. For most of his life he has also worked as a jazz musician and composer. He lives in Kirriemuir, Scotland.

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Sold out!

Date

Jan 18 2024
Expired!

Time

9:00 am - 11:30 pm

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Jan 18 2024
  • Time: 4:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cost

£30.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code