Skip to content

Ekphrasis Masterclass with Pascale Petit, 15/4/24

Pascale Petit is well known for ekphrastic poetry, poetry which draws inspiration from art. With her background as an artist and sculptor trained at the Royal College of Art, she will discuss her approach to ekphrasis in her own poetic works, highlighting image-making as a powerful craft in the poetic toolbox. She’ll demonstrate how visual art can refresh imagery, provide sensory detail, and surprise with metaphor. It can help make the most serious subject fun. She’ll also explore other poets with widely varying approaches who have responded to painting, sculpture, installation or video art. There will be an opportunity to write your own ekphrastic poems with Pascale’s guidance. Take away tips and ideas for taking a productive writing trip to a gallery. Many will remember the fabulously inspiring and very popular workshops she ran at Tate Modern, London, for nine years.

Timing and Cost

Start time: 10am UK time // 5pm Perth Australia // 6.30pm Adelaide // 7pm Brisbane //  7pm Sydney // 6.30pm Darwin

2.5 hours long

A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Monday 15th April

Cost £30 GBP (cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Maximum 23 people (one screen of participants only)

Online on Zoom

About Pascale Petit

Pascale was born in Paris and lives in Cornwall. She is of French, Welsh, and Indian heritage. Her eighth collection of poetry, Tiger Girl (Bloodaxe, 2020), was shortlisted for the Forward Prize and for Wales Book of the Year. Her seventh, Mama Amazonica (Bloodaxe, 2017), won the inaugural Laurel Prize, the RSL Ondaatje Prize, and was a Poetry Book Society Choice. Four previous collections were shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize. Pascale was a co-founder of The Poetry School, and is a Royal Society of Literature Fellow. Her first novel is launched in 2024.

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Sold out!

Date

Apr 15 2024
Expired!

Time

10:00 am - 12:30 pm

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Apr 15 2024
  • Time: 5:00 am - 7:30 am

Cost

£30.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code