Skip to content

Editing Poems with Pascale Petit, Masterclass 13/11/23

Fabulous poet, Pascale Petit, whose many poetry collections seem to always be in the prize lists, will share her wisdom on editing poems in this practical masterclass.

We will discuss how to edit our poems, focusing on free verse and that all important line-break – how to edit a poem so it’s precise and each line has integral power. We’ll do this by comparing earlier drafts of published poets’ poems as they appeared in magazines, with the final versions collected in their books. Pascale will also share some of her own early drafts and talk about her techniques.

Timing and Cost

Start time: 9am UK time // 5pm Perth Australia // 7.30pm Adelaide // 7pm Brisbane //  8pm Sydney // 6.30pm Darwin

A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Monday 13th November

2.5 hours long

Cost £30 GBP (cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Maximum 23 people (one screen of participants only)

Online on Zoom

About Pascale Petit

Pascale was born in Paris and lives in Cornwall. She is of French, Welsh, and Indian heritage. Her eighth collection of poetry, Tiger Girl (Bloodaxe, 2020), was shortlisted for the Forward Prize and for Wales Book of the Year. Her seventh, Mama Amazonica (Bloodaxe, 2017), won the inaugural Laurel Prize, the RSL Ondaatje Prize, and was a Poetry Book Society Choice. Four previous collections were shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize. Pascale was a co-founder of The Poetry School, and is a Royal Society of Literature Fellow.

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Sold out!

Date

Nov 13 2023
Expired!

Time

9:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Nov 13 2023
  • Time: 4:00 AM - 6:30 PM

Cost

£30.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code