Skip to content

Adventures in Villanelles with Mimi Khalvati 24/11/22

Not from the TV series, Killing Eve. But better.

Join one of the best poetry teachers on the planet for an exploration of the villanelle poetic form in a 1.5 hour interactive seminar/masterclass.

As Mimi says, the villanelle is obsessive, circling but with a clear melodic line, presenting a challenge to poets undaunted by its unique demands and keen to enjoy the surprises it offers.

How does this poetic form reveal itself in the 2020s?

Read about the villanelle HERE.

Timing and Cost

9am UK // 5pm Perth Australia // Adelaide 7.30pm // Brisbane 7pm // Sydney 8pm // Darwin 6.30pm

Thursday 24th November

1.5 hours long

Cost £25GBP (it fluctuates a little right now but, under $50AUD with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Maximum 22 people

Online on Zoom

About Mimi Khalvati

Mimi Khalvati was born in Tehran, Iran, and has lived most of her life in London. She has published nine collections with Carcanet Press, including The Meanest Flower, shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize 2007, Child: New and Selected Poems 1991-2011, a Poetry Book Society Special Commendation, and The Weather Wheel, a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and a book of the year in The Independent. Her latest book is Afterwardness (2019), a collection of gorgeous sonnets awarded a Poetry Book Society Wild Card and a Sunday Times Book of the Year. Her pamphlet, Earthshine (Smith/Dorstop Books 2013) was a Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice and her Very Selected Poems appeared from Smith/Doorstop in 2017. Her awards include a Cholmondeley Award from the Society of Authors, a major Arts Council Writer’s Award, and she is the founder of the Poetry School, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of The English Society. Mimi has mentored countless prize-winners in the UK and is thought of by many high profile poets as simply the poetry teacher today.

From a previous workshops with Mimi:  I just wanted to say a big thank you for the workshop with Mimi. It was so enriching and I learnt so much. It felt that every word Mimi said was poetry! There is such a lot that I have taken from the workshop. Caroline Hadley

 

Part of the UK/Australia Season of Culture 2021-22, a major programme of cultural exchange taking place across the two nations. Who are we now? How can we describe, challenge or create new connections with our land and people in the 2020s?

 

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Sold out!

Date

Nov 24 2022
Expired!

Time

9:00 AM - 10:30 AM

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Nov 24 2022
  • Time: 4:00 AM - 5:30 AM

Cost

£25.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code