Skip to content

The Making of a Sonnet with Mimi Khalvati 24/2/22

The Verandah’s most sought after teacher of poetic craft will talk you through the drafts of one of her exquisite sonnets form her latest book Afterwardness, how she envisaged and edited the poem. She’ll discuss some principles of the Petrarchan sonnet generally and there will be plenty of time for questions. You’ll receive a series of early drafts and the final draft of her poem by email in advance to consider.

More than your average ‘how I did it’ workshop, spending an hour with the very wise poetry mentor Mimi, a true master of the craft, is very precious indeed –  essential for anyone interested in reading and writing sonnets.

Timing and Cost

1 hour long

9.30am UK // 5.30pm Perth Australia // Adelaide 8pm // Brisbane 7.30pm // Sydney 8.30pm // Darwin 7pm

Thursday 24th February

Cost £12.50 GBP (approx. $25AUD with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Max. 18 people to ensure lots of conversation and interaction.

About Mimi Khalvati

Mimi has mentored countless prize-winners in the UK and is thought of by many high profile poets as simply the best editor and crafter of poetry.

Mimi Khalvati was born in Tehran, Iran, and has lived most of her life in London. She has published nine collections with Carcanet Press, including The Meanest Flower, shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize 2007, Child: New and Selected Poems 1991-2011, a Poetry Book Society Special Commendation, and The Weather Wheel, a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and a book of the year in The Independent. Her latest book is Afterwardness (2019), a collection of gorgeous sonnets awarded a Poetry Book Society Wild Card and a Sunday Times Book of the Year. Her pamphlet, Earthshine (Smith/Dorstop Books 2013) was a Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice and her Very Selected Poems appeared from Smith/Doorstop in 2017. Her awards include a Cholmondeley Award from the Society of Authors, a major Arts Council Writer’s Award, and she is the founder of the Poetry School, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of The English Society.

Part of the UK/Australia Season of Culture 2021-22, a major programme of cultural exchange taking place across the two nations. Who are we now? How can we describe, challenge or create new connections with our land and people in the 2020s?

 

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop

 

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Book Event

The Making of a Sonnet with Mimi Khalvati
Available Tickets: 1
The The Making of a Sonnet with Mimi Khalvati ticket is sold out. You can try another ticket or another date.

Date

Feb 24 2022

Time

9:30 am - 10:30 am

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Feb 24 2022
  • Time: 4:30 am - 5:30 am

Cost

£12.50

Location

Online (Zoom)
REGISTER
QR Code