Skip to content

The Art of the Line with Hannah Lowe, Poetry Masterclass, 30/10/23

In this 2 hour workshop, Hannah Lowe, overall winner of the 2021 prestigious Costa prize, will focus on the art of the line, considering how line endings and line breakings work in tandem with other key elements of poetry, exploring how syntax, grammar, rhythm and rhyme are often combined with lineation. We will look at examples by poets such as Philip Levine, Mark Doty and Marie Howe, considering how techniques such as enjambment and caesura can augment poems and create new meanings and music.

Note: I’m on UK time right now, but if you book the last ticket I will get your booking when I wake up – and send you the zoom link etc then!

Timing and Cost

9am UK time // 5pm Perth Australia // 7.30pm Adelaide // 7pm Brisbane //  8pm Sydney // 6.30pm Darwin

A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Monday 30th October

2 hours long

Cost £28 GBP (cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Maximum 23 people (one screen of participants only)

Online on Zoom

About Hannah Lowe

Hannah Lowe is a poet, memoirist and academic. Her latest book, The Kids, a Poetry Book Society ‘Choice’ for Autumn, won the Costa Poetry Award and the Costa Book of the Year, 2021. Her first poetry collection Chick (Bloodaxe, 2013) won the Michael Murphy Memorial Award for Best First Collection. In 2014, she was named as one of 20 Next Generation poets. Her family memoir Long Time, No See (Periscope, 2015) featured as Radio 4’s Book of the Week. Her second collection, Chan, is published by Bloodaxe. (2016). She has also published four chapbooks: The Hitcher (Rialto 2012); R x (sine wave peak 2013); and Ormonde (Hercules Editions 2014) and The Neighbourhood (Outspoken Press, 2019). Two new chapbook, Old Friends and Rock, Bird, Butterfly! are forthcoming

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop.

REFUND POLICY

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

Date

Oct 30 2023
Expired!

Time

9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Oct 30 2023
  • Time: 5:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cost

£28.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
QR Code