Skip to content

Dive into Poetry: themed reading and writing workshops, Magnificent Teenagers 21/7/24

Join our enjoyable small group, reading and writing poetry together.

In the first hour of these workshops, we’ll discuss an inspiring batch of poems sent to  you a few days beforehand. We’ll explore the poems and poetic techniques with expert guidance. These discussions in themselves are rich and life-enhancing.

Then, after a short break, we’ll write together inspired by the poems and share some of our writing. Expect plenty of inspiration and ideas for your writing.

This workshop is for all levels, including those relatively new to reading and writing poetry.

If you’re a prose writer you might also find these workshops useful inspiration.

More topics and dates to come…

Sunday 21st July, 2024

Theme:  Magnificent Teenagers

Adolescence is magical, awkward, rebellious, self-conscious, outspoken, disjunctive, freeing, an  in-between time like no other in our lives. It’s a time for forming and understanding the self.

Teenagers are risk-taking or withdrawn, wise or naïve, perhaps all at once, as the body and mind changes.  We find our way with new kinds of relationships, explore our identity and question our place in the world. Teenagers try new things, test boundaries, yearn for independence,  join social gangs, excel or flunk out in unexpected ways. We wonder what we are good at and what we will become, and we look for role models.  Reclaim, indulge, befriend and write about teenagers!

Teenagers also welcome, of course.

COST & TIMING

GBP £25

For other currencies, including $AUD, a cost effective exchange rate is automatically calculated by STRIPE.

UK time 10.30am to 1pm 

Start times in Australia: Perth 5.30pm  // Brisbane 7.30pm // Darwin 7pm // Adelaide 7pm // Sydney 7.30pm 

2.5 hours long

Clocks change in UK at the end of March the start time might be different for you in April. A useful link for checking other timezones: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

2.5hours for each session (with a short break in the middle)

maximum 14 people

ABOUT THE FACILITATOR

Australian Cath Drake’s collection ‘The Shaking City’ (Seren Books) was highly commended in the 2020 Forward Prizes, longlisted in the international Laurel Prize and described by TS Eliot winner Philip Gross as ‘a guide to staying clear-eyed, combative and caring in unsettling times.’. It follows ‘Sleeping with Rivers’ which won the Seren/Mslexia poetry pamphlet prize and was a Poetry Book Society choice. Cath’s prizes include a second in the 2017 Resurgence Poetry School eco-poetry prize (now called Ginkgo) and highly commended in 2019. She teaches writing in the UK, Australia and online. She’s an award-winning journalist and nonfiction writer and also a mindfulness teacher.

… a good poem creates an enchantment … a sudden surge of curiosity, interest, emotion, a momentary spell of heightened awareness, heightened emotional vulnerability, heightened imaginative sensitivity … I try to create a room in which something important is happening, will happen or has happened.

Poet, Dana Gioia

If this event sells out, contact me using this form TO BE ADDED TO THE WAITING LIST – I often do draw on the waiting list. Include the name of the workshop

Book Event

Dive into Poetry: Magnificent Teenagers 21/7/24
Available Tickets: 11
The Dive into Poetry: Magnificent Teenagers 21/7/24 ticket is sold out. You can try another ticket or another date.

Date

Jul 21 2024

Time

10:30 am - 1:00 pm

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Jul 21 2024
  • Time: 5:30 am - 8:00 am

Cost

£25.00

Location

Online (Zoom)
REGISTER
QR Code